You may have noticed the green toggle switch in the asset overview that allows you to untrack an asset.
The DataTrails documentation says:
"An essential value of storing evidence in DataTrails is that data is always available to stakeholders and cannot be shredded or manipulated later. Given this, it is not possible to actually delete Assets from the system, but there will be cases where it is desirable to hide Assets in the UI or omit them from default searches or compliance queries (for instance as a result of decommissioning or disposal of the corresponding physical asset).
To accommodate this need DataTrails separates the Asset estate into 2 classes: tracked Assets (those that are interesting to the system and actively recording events) and untracked Assets (those that are no longer actively interesting). When for any reason it becomes desirable to remove an Asset, the Asset owner can make it untracked so that it does not appear in lists or searches."
What does this mean?
- An untracked asset will not be visible in the Asset Overview in the UI.
- It will not be included in the results of a list assets API.
- You cannot post events to untracked assets.
- The untracked asset no longer counts towards your tenancy cap.
- The asset is not deleted. The asset and it's history can be accessed using the Asset ID.
Is this permanent?
No, if you accidentally untrack an asset you can start tracking again but be aware that any provenance of the time that it was untracked will be lost. We advise that you treat untracking an asset as permanent and that you only use it when you no longer need the asset.
This action cannot be hidden because untracking and tracking an asset are recorded as immutable events in the asset history.
You can view untracked assets by including "&tracked=NOT_TRACKED" in the API call URL.
or by using the Developer console.
Once you have the asset ID you can view the untracked asset in the UI by replacing the asset ID in the URL. Then you can use the toggle switch to change back to tracked status.